Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How to delete "deleted" files permanently?

data retention deletion delete

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 John Simpkins

John Simpkins
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 June 2015 - 10:20 AM

I'd like to be able to delete files and folders permanently from the Barracuda cloud. I cannot find a method for doing this; choosing "show deleted files" reveals files that were deleted far over 30 days ago, even though I have a free account.



#2 Mitchell Defay

Mitchell Defay
  • Administrators
  • 186 posts

Posted 17 June 2015 - 01:52 PM

Hi John, Please Contact us at Support@copy.com With your email address and a breif description so we can look into this for you 

 

Thanks

 

I'd like to be able to delete files and folders permanently from the Barracuda cloud. I cannot find a method for doing this; choosing "show deleted files" reveals files that were deleted far over 30 days ago, even though I have a free account.



#3 Eduardo Patricio

Eduardo Patricio
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 September 2015 - 03:54 AM

I'm having the exact same problem. Just sent an email to Support@copy.com.



#4 Mitchell Defay

Mitchell Defay
  • Administrators
  • 186 posts

Posted 30 September 2015 - 09:41 AM

Hello, 

 

For free users the files will be put in a queue after 30 days to be purged from the system. If you're a paid user we keep the files forever until account is deleted. However we are working on a Feature to improve the experience with deleting files permanently with an option to do so within the account. 

 

Thanks,

Mitch



#5 Ryan Eldridge

Ryan Eldridge
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 October 2015 - 02:22 PM

Add me to the list of wanting a permanent delete feature added.



#6 Mitchell Defay

Mitchell Defay
  • Administrators
  • 186 posts

Posted 20 October 2015 - 10:26 AM

Hello Ryan,

 

I have added you to this list. 

 

Thanks,

Mitch



#7 Alfonso de Cala Bravo

Alfonso de Cala Bravo
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 October 2015 - 04:12 AM

I also need this permanent delete (or the classic 'empty recycle bin')



#8 Mitchell Defay

Mitchell Defay
  • Administrators
  • 186 posts

Posted 27 October 2015 - 07:31 AM

Hi Alfonso,

 

I will add you to the list on the feature request.

 

Thanks,

Mitch



#9 Steve Morris

Steve Morris
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 October 2015 - 03:59 PM

Please include me on the list for a permanent delete feature added.

 

Thanks



#10 nate hamilton

nate hamilton
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 October 2015 - 05:46 PM

I can't believe there isn't the ability to purge deleted items off of the account. I have an empty Copy folder, but am supposedly using 80% of my 50GB... because no deletes have ever been purged, even after the 30-days as promised.

 

Please ensure I'm notified when this "feature" is available.



#11 Mitchell Defay

Mitchell Defay
  • Administrators
  • 186 posts

Posted 28 October 2015 - 08:51 AM

Hello Steve,

 

Please include me on the list for a permanent delete feature added.

 

Thanks

 

I will add you to the ever growing list.

 

Hi Nate,

 

I can't believe there isn't the ability to purge deleted items off of the account. I have an empty Copy folder, but am supposedly using 80% of my 50GB... because no deletes have ever been purged, even after the 30-days as promised.

 

Please ensure I'm notified when this "feature" is available.

 

The Deleted items do not affect your account storage. Which is great! please allow 24 hour for your storage to correct after deleting items. the account usage should be updated by then if it is not please contact us through Help on the copy.com site.

 

Thanks,

Mitch



#12 villa veneziani

villa veneziani
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 November 2015 - 07:12 AM

Please include me on the list for a permanent delete feature added.

 

Thanks



#13 Scott Littlewood

Scott Littlewood
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 November 2015 - 10:25 AM

Please add me to the list for this feature as not being able to force a permanent deletion of files is a bit of a security risk on sensitive information.



#14 Mitchell Defay

Mitchell Defay
  • Administrators
  • 186 posts

Posted 06 November 2015 - 09:49 AM

Hello,

 

I will add you as well to the list.

 

Thanks,

Mitch



#15 Tanel Kagan

Tanel Kagan
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 November 2015 - 06:43 AM

Yes, I would also like this feature.  The problem here is not merely one of file organisation and convenience - it seems that despite a large number of files being deleted prior to the 30 day period, they are somehow still counting against the data limit and my account is showing that this has been exceeded.

I am not sure if this is currently preventing further upload/synchronisation but my current data is about 4.5Gb and I have a 17Gb limit, yet the account is still showing that I am using 110% of my allocation.

 

Tanel.



#16 RPM_TECH

RPM_TECH
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 November 2015 - 01:15 PM

Hi

Can you please add me to this feature request list?

I've also sent an email to suport.copy.com.

When do you estimate this being completed?

 

Thank you.

 

Clay



#17 Dominic Comtois

Dominic Comtois
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 November 2015 - 09:40 PM

Same here, it seems files are never purged from my account, so my usage shows 20GB out of 20GB even though that's not the case anymore. So please add me to the evergrowing list!

 

Thank you



#18 Michael Potter

Michael Potter
  • Barracuda Team Members
  • 174 posts
  • LocationAnn Arbor, Michigan

Posted 20 November 2015 - 04:44 PM

@RPM_Tech

@Dominic Comtois

added to lists



#19 Luke

Luke
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 November 2015 - 02:59 PM

.



#20 Michael Potter

Michael Potter
  • Barracuda Team Members
  • 174 posts
  • LocationAnn Arbor, Michigan

Posted 30 November 2015 - 05:29 PM

Added