ESS Quarantine Deferred

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Mike Jephtha

Mike Jephtha
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 February 2017 - 07:58 AM

Hi - I'm relatively new to the service and want to get to grips with the day-to-day admin that seems to be required.

As a single administrator without any other IT personnel, I am having to manually clear 'deferred' or 'suspicious' messages that are actually important and from genuine senders (both internal and external).

What I'm concerned with is - who does this process when I am not here? No emails go to quarantine at the moment - is this something I should setup along with individual users so they can clear their own?  Any guidance notes on what should be done?

many thanks

#2 Michelle Exner

Michelle Exner

BSF / BESS Moderator

• Moderators
  • 359 posts

Posted 16 February 2017 - 11:37 AM   Best Answer

Mike,

You are going through a lot of work needlessly.

The Email Security Service (ESS) is a pass through service that keeps a history of the last 30 days of activity.

Mail that is DEFERRED is going to be retried by the sending server which will show up in the log at a later time (depending on the senders retry interval)

ESS does not accept messages, scan then and then deliver them.

ESS accepts a connection from the sender, connects to the recipients server and monitor the traffic for spam and virus content.

If ESS sees something in the traffic that is a spam or virus it stops the data transfer to the destination server but still continues to accept the entire message and shows it in the log as blocked or quarantined. ESS then sends a REJECT code to the sending server and closes the connection.