• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Marco Coleco

Marco Coleco
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 June 2018 - 10:53 AM

Hi

I am a newbie looking for some tech help on setting up the X with a static network. I have been given the following and am trying to create this on P2 as a static address;

Outside Subnet: 185.XX.XX.248/31  - This is the range your router/firewall connects to us on.

ISP IP: 185.XX.XX.248/31 - This should be used as the default gateway for your router/firewall.

Your IP: 185.XX.XX.249/31 - This IP should go to your router/firewall's external interface

Inside Subnet: 185.XX.XX.56/29 - This is the range for your servers. You should configure your router/firewall's internal interface to have one of the IPs on this range (your choice) and then configure your servers to have their default gateway set to the IP of this range you have configured your firewall/router to.

I'm assuming I am going about this the right way from what I have read and creating this on P2 but every time I try to create this I get an error saying "IP conflicts with network or broadcast address".

Like I said I am a newbie and want to learn and understand subnetting and am doing some hard reading currently but any help in pointing me in the right direction would be really appreciated.

Cheers

Marco

#2 Gavin Chappell

Gavin Chappell
  • Moderators
  • 441 posts
  • LocationNottingham, UK

Posted 01 July 2018 - 08:26 AM

Is it possible that this needs to be configured as a PPP/PPPoA/PPPoE link? A traditional Ethernet link can't use a /31 subnet mask because it's missing a broadcast address and Ethernet is a broadcast medium, as well as missing the network address (which is causing your conflict).

#3 Marco Coleco

Marco Coleco
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 July 2018 - 12:34 AM

Hi

Thanks for the reply..